SECOND CHANCE BULLETIN: Voice Your Support For Senate Bill 33 Today

February 26, 2013

It’s that time of the year again -- time to speak up for second chances!

We accomplished much this past legislative session by calling, writing, and meeting with legislators to voice our support for reducing barriers to reentry and increasing resources for individuals with criminal records. The 2013 legislative session has now begun and there are plenty of opportunities to speak out for second chances. 

SENATE BILL 33: Use of Criminal History Records by Licensing Boards

Members of the Judiciary II Committee are currently considering a bill that would positively affect thousands of North Carolinians who possess the skills and drive to contribute in a variety of occupations, but are excluded from doing so due to their criminal records. Senate Bill 33, introduced by Sen. Fletcher Hartsell, requires occupational licensing boards to consider several aspects of an applicant’s criminal record (how long ago the conviction occurred, the connection between the crime and the occupation, evidence of rehabilitation, etc) when deciding whether to grant an individual an occupational license. This bill would prevent occupational licensing boards from automatically denying licensure to all applicants with a criminal conviction unless there is a state or federal law that requires a denial. This will open doors for North Carolinians across the state by allowing them to utilize their skills and contribute positively to their communities.

To read the entire text of SB 33, click here.

Below are the names of the members of the Senate Judiciary II Committee. The Committee will vote on the bill THURSDAY, FEBRUARY 28. Please take the time TODAY to call and/or email these individuals—especially those representing your county— to voice your support for second chances.

Key Talking Points for SB 33:

  • I support SB 33-Use of Criminal History Records by  Licensing Boards
  • Occupational Licensing Boards should not be able to deny licensure to anyone with a criminal record without considering their specific circumstances.
  • Requiring occupational licensing boards to conduct an individualized assessment of an individual and his criminal record is a balanced and fair approach. It allows individuals a chance to tell their stories and make a case for their employment, and—after reviewing these considerations— an occupational licensing board retains the discretion whether or not to provide licensure
  • This is not a hand out—this is about allowing individuals opportunities to put their skills to productive use and contribute meaningfully to their community and North Carolina’s economy.

Judiciary II Committee

Name

County

Phone

Email

Sen. Warren Daniel

Burke, Cleveland

(919) 715-7823

Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net

Sen. Austin Allran

Alexander, Catawba

(919) 733-5876

Austin.allran@ncleg.net

Sen. Shirley Randleman

Stokes, Surry, Wilkes

(919) 733-5743

Shirley.randleman@ncleg.net

Sen. Stan Bingham

Davidson, Montgomery

(919) 733-5665

Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net

Sen. Angela Bryant

Halifax, Nash, Vance, Warren

(919) 733-5878

Angela.Bryant@ncleg.net

Sen. Ben Clark

Cumberland, Hoke

(919) 733-9349

Ben.clark@ncleg.net

Sen. Bill Cook

Beaufort, Camdex, Currituk, Pasquotank, Perquimans

(919) 715-8293

Bill.cook@ncleg.net

Sen. Jim Davis

Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain

(919) 733-5875

Jim.Davis@ncleg.net

Sen. Malcolm Graham

Mecklenburg

(919) 733-5650

Malcolm.Graham@ncleg.net

Sen. Fletcher Hartsell

Cabarrus, Union

(919) 733-7223

Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net

Sen. Ellie Kinnaird

Chatham, Orange

(919) 733-5804

Ellie.kinnaird@ncleg.net

Sen. Floyd McKissick

Durham, Granville

(919) 733-4599

Floyd.McKissick@ncleg.net

Sen. Tommy Tucker

Union

(919) 733-7659

Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net

Please make those calls today—voter interest significantly impacts the way legislators vote.

For questions or information, please call Daniel Bowes at (919) 861-2061

 

Authors: 
Research & Publications: