Thanks to the overwhelming response from our community, the event is sold out!
Please use this page to make payment of an existing pledge.

Every year we come together to celebrate the inspirational work of outstanding leaders in our community who are leading the fight for justice. These few exemplify our mission—they are working to eliminate poverty in North Carolina to ensure the creation of an economy that works for everyone.
Learn more about the 2023 Defenders of Justice Awards.


Bob Hall, Retired Executive Director of Democracy North Carolina and a champion for voting rights for the past three decades, is being honored with a Lifetime Champion of Justice Award. Read his full bio here.



Deborah Dicks Maxwell, the first female President of the North Carolina State Conference of the NAACP and a passionate advocate for social justice, is being honored with a Lifetime Champion of Justice Award. Read her full bio here.



Chanelle “C.C.” Croxton, the North Carolina organizing director for the National Domestic Workers Alliance, NDWA and a staunch advocate for the rights and dignity of domestic and care sector workers, is being honored with a Policy Research and Advocacy Award.  Read her full bio here.



Tin Fulton Walker & Owen, PLLC, a North Carolina law firm that litigates civil rights, employment, personal injury, family and criminal law, is being honored with a Litigation Award for their decades of stellar work bringing justice to. Read the firm’s full bio here.



Angus Thompson, a treasured civil rights leader, Robeson County’s first public defender and an original plaintiff in the groundbreaking 1994 Leandro v. State of North Carolina lawsuit, will be honored with a Grassroots Empowerment Award. Read his full bio here.