Each year, the North Carolina Justice Center presents its Defender of Justice Awards to honor individuals and organizations that have made significant contributions in the fight against poverty in four areas that reflect the scope of the Justice Center’s work – legislative advocacy, policy research and advocacy, litigation, and grassroots empowerment.


Our 2018 Honorees

Lifetime Champions
THE HONORABLE CHARLES BECTON Former Judge on the North Carolina Court of Appeals
ANITA BROWN-GRAHAM Professor of Public Law and Government, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
TED FILLETTE Assistant Director/Senior Managing Attorney of Legal Aid North Carolina-Charlotte (Ret.)
JOHN MCMILLAN Attorney with Manning Fulton & Skinner
CATHY TAMSBERG Associate Pastor at Pullen Memorial Baptist Church (Ret.)

Grassroots Empowerment
ADRIENNE KENNEDY Director of Seeds of H.O.P.E. Project & Disaster Recovery Center
RENEE SEKEL Founder of Save Our Schools

CHRISTINE MUMMA Executive Director of North Carolina Center on Actual Innocence

Policy Research and Advocacy
CAROLYN McALLASTER Professor of Law, Duke University School of Law / Founder, Duke AIDS Legal Project and Duke HIV/AIDS Policy Clinic
ERIC ZOGRY State Juvenile Defender

Past Defenders of Justice Award Honorees