ACTION ALERT: Support Workers Facing Layoffs NOW

This Monday, the House Commerce Committee is set to hear HB 1169, Enact WARN-NC/Give 90-Day Layoff Notice.  The legislation would expand the federal WARN Act and give employees who are subject to plant closings or mass layoffs more notice by extending the notice requirement from 60 days to 90 days.

 
This legislation is critical in supporting employers and employees in these tough economic times.  When workers have more advance notice of business closures and layoffs, they can better prepare for a smoother transition to a new job and reduce the burden on the state to provide support services.
 
Contact the House Commerce Committee over the weekend (you can call their office and leave a voicemail or email them) and tell them to support HB 1169, Enact WARN-NC/Give 90-Day Layoff Notice.  We're in a time crunch to get this legislation through the House Commerce Committee and the House floor before the crossover deadline on May 14, 2009.  They need to hear from you ASAP before the hearing on Monday afternoon.
 
House Commerce Committee Contact info (all phone numbers 919 area codes):
 
Rep. Margaret Dickson-Cumberland, Margaret.dickson@ncleg.net, 733-5776
Rep. Alma Adams-Guilford, alma.adams@ncleg.net, 733-5902
Rep. Becky Carney-Mecklenburg, becky.carney@ncleg.net, 733-5827
Rep. Bruce Goforth-Buncombe, bruce.goforth@ncleg.net, 733-5746
Rep. Edgar Starnes-Caldwell, edgar.starnes@ncleg.net, 733-5931
Rep. Randy Stewart-Nash, randy.stewart@ncleg.net, 733-5802
Rep. Winkie Wilkins-Person, winkie.wilkins@ncleg.net, 715-0850
Rep. Lucy Allen-Franklin, lucy.allen@ncleg.net, 733-5860
Rep. Cary Allred-Alamance, cary.allred@ncleg.net, 733-5905
Rep. Marilyn Avila-Wake, marilyn.avila@ncleg.net, 733-5530
Rep. Hugh Blackwell-Burke, hugh.blackwell@ncleg.net, 733-5805
Rep. Curtis Blackwood-Union, curtis.blackwood@ncleg.net, 733-2406
Rep. James Boles-Moore, james.boles@ncleg.net, 733-5903
Rep. Van Braxton-Lenoir, van.braxton@ncleg.net, 715-3017
Rep. Larry Brown-Forsyth, larry.brown@ncleg.net, 733-5607
Rep. Nelson Cole-Rockingham, nelson.cole@ncleg.net, 733-5779
Rep. Bob England-Cleveland, bob.england@ncleg.net, 733-5749
Rep. Elmer Floyd-Cumberland, elmer.floyd@ncleg.net, 733-5959
Rep. Phillip Frye-Mitchell, phillip.frye@ncleg.net, 733-5661
Rep. Mitch Gillespie-McDowell, mitch.gillespie@ncleg.net, 733-5862
Rep. Ty Harrell-Wake, ty.harrell@ncleg.net, 733-5602
Rep. Bryan Holloway-Stokes, bryan.holloway@ncleg.net, 733-5609
Rep. Bill McGee-Forsyth, William.mcgee@ncleg.net, 733-5747
Rep. Grey Mills-Iredell, grey.mills@ncleg.net, 733-5741
Rep. Bill Owens-Pasquotank, bill.owens@ncleg.net, 733-0010
Rep. Garland Pierce-Scotland, garland.pierce@ncleg.net, 733-5803
Rep. Ray Rapp-Haywood, ray.rapp@ncleg.net, 733-5732
Rep. Ruth Samuelson-Mecklenburg, ruth.samuelson, 715-3009
Rep. Fred Steen-Rowan, fred.steen@ncleg.net, 733-5881
Rep. Cullie Tarleton-Watauga, cullie.tarleton@ncleg.net, 733-7727
Rep. Edith Warren-Pitt, edith.warren@ncleg.net, 715-3023
Rep. Michael Wray-Northampton, michael.wray@ncleg.net, 733-5821
 
Many thanks!
Authors: